Championships at Del Monte Golf Course

  • Share:

Tree covered golf course

When it first opened in 1897, Del Monte Golf Course was almost immediately acknowledged as one of the finest courses in the world. The newly formed Pacific Coast Golf Association selected Del Monte as the site of its Pacific Coast Open in 1901.

The PCGA Women’s and Men’s Amateur tournaments soon followed, as did Del Monte’s own Del Monte Championship, which quickly became the most popular—and most important—tournament in the state. When the PCGA was replaced by the California Golf Association, the CGA State Amateur and the Del Monte Championship became one.

Here are some notable highlights:

Opens and Professional Tournaments Winner Year
Open Championships (Pacific Coast) Multiple winners 1901 – 1918
1st California Open John Black 1919
TaylorMade Pebble Beach Invitational presented by DELL EMC(1) Multiple winners 1972, 1975
1979 – 1986
1993 – present day
PURE Insurance Championship Impacting The First Tee Multiple winners 2005 – 2014
Other Regional Amateur Tournaments Winner Years
Del Monte Cup – Men’s Championship Multiple winners 1898 – 1908
Del Monte Men’s Championship Multiple winners 1909 – 1912
California State Amateur Championship Multiple winners 1912 – 1999
Del Monte Cup – Women’s Championship Multiple winners 1898 – 1908
Del Monte Women’s Championship (2) Multiple winners 1909 – 1919
1921 – 1942
1947 – 1951
California Intercollegiate Championship Lauren Upson 1924
Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Championship (3) Lauren Upson 1925
Pacific Coast Women’s Amateur Multiple winners 1901 – 1902
California Women’s Amateur Alice Warner Law 1919
18th Western Amateur Championship Heinrich Schmidt 1916
California Junior Championship Multiple winners 1920 – 1937

(1) Continuation of the renamed Laguna Seca-Del Monte Hyatt Pro-Am in 1972
(2) Played at Pebble Beach Golf Links in 1920 and Cypress Point Club in 1943
(3) Continuation of the renamed California Intercollegiate Championship