Del Monte Golf Course

The Monterey City Amateur

A Del Monte Tradition Since 1953

2023 Entry Form

June 30 – July 2, 2023

In the Grand Tradition of the Game

The history of amateur golf at Del Monte Golf Course spans more than a century of competition. Jack Neville won the first California State Amateur here in 1912, seven years before he partnered with fellow amateur star Douglas Grant to design Pebble Beach Golf Links. The list of champions at Del Monte is as rich and storied as the game itself.

The Monterey City Amateur continues the grand tradition of amateur championships held at Del Monte. Since 1953, each winner’s name has been etched on The Henry Zaches Trophy. From early champions in multiple years like George Galios, Peter Geyer and Bob Zoller to more notable winners such as Daryl Donovan and NCGA Hall of Famer Casey Boyns, the Monterey City Amateur has continued to be a championship that provides the finest amateurs with a classic test of skill.

Big congratulations to AJ Fitzgerald, the 2022 Annual Monterey City Amateur winner! AJ overcame a five shot deficit with a final round of 67 to beat the field by two strokes! AJ eagled the first hole during the final round and then proceeded to make 6 birdies in a stretch of 12 holes! Runners-up in the Championship Division were Jake Aberle and Nick Moore who tied for Second Place with final scores of -2.

Our Net Championship winner Charles Balisha (+5)! Charles posted a 74 on Sunday to beat Arron Goodin (2nd) and Ben Donaldson (3rd).

2022 Tournament Results

2021 Tournament Results