2019 Monterey Open Logo

2019 Monterey Open Championship

(831) 373-2700

Entry Form

A Legacy of Champions

The Monterey Open Championship has a rich and storied history dating back to 1926, when it was won by “Light Horse” Harry Cooper in an event that included most of the top golfers in the nation—including the reigning U.S. Amateur George Von Elm, and 1927 Ryder Cup team members “Wild” Bill Melhorn, Joe Turnesa, Johnny Golden, Al Watrous, Johnny Farrell, Leo Diegel, and Al Espinosa.

The tournament missed a few years during the Great Depression, and again during WWII, but otherwise remained a popular annual event on the Del Monte Golf Course calendar. Following the WWII death of popular Monterey golfer Bud Brownell, the Bud Brownell Memorial Trophy was created by Jo Mora for engraving the names of future winners.

After a brief hiatus (the tournament was not played from 1997-2003), Del Monte Golf Course resumed the event in 2004.

2019 Tournament Information


54-hole, stroke-play competition. The field will be cut to the top 40 players and ties for the final 18 holes.


All professional and amateur players are entered into the open/scratch flight. Amateurs must have a valid USGA Handicap index of 2.4 or below.


Friday, October 4, 2019, at 5:00 p.m., or the first 126 paid players. The last day to withdraw and receive a full refund is Friday, October 11.

Entry Fee

$495 for Open professionals, $350 for PGA Class A and Associate Professionals in good standing, $350 for amateurs. Your entry fee includes green fees, sponsor gifts and complimentary on-course refreshments. Please make payment to Del Monte Golf Course by check, money order, or any major credit card for your entry into the 2019 Monterey Open Championship.

Rules of Golf

Play will be governed by the Head Golf Professional and Rules Committee at Del Monte Golf Course. All USGA Rules of Golf will be followed and a supplemental local rules sheet will be available. All questions will be settled by the Rules Committee, whose decision shall be final.


Registration will begin at 6:30 a.m. on October 14 in the Del Monte Pro Shop. Shuttles will be provided to the 10th tee every 15 minutes.

Practice Round

Practice rounds will be available October 7-13, 2019, for $50.00 including cart after 12:00 p.m. per player. Reservations can be made by calling the Del Monte Pro Shop at (831) 373-2700.

Pace of Play

Pace of Play will be strictly enforced with a maximum time of 15 minutes average per hole. Penalties will be assessed for slow play.

Golf Carts & Caddies

The use of golf carts is not mandatory and caddies will be permitted in the Monterey Open Championship. Caddies do not have to carry the competitors’ clubs and will be permitted to use a golf cart, but both the player and the caddie are not permitted to ride in the golf cart at the same time. To schedule a caddie through Del Monte Golf Course, please contact Caddie Services at (866) 903-9101.

Dress Code

Appropriate golf attire is required for all competitors. All professionals must wear slacks; caddies and amateurs may wear Bermuda-length shorts.

Previous Championship Results

Matt Pridey of Salinas shot a closing 8-under 64 to catch second-round leader Ian Maxwell and win the 2018 Monterey Open Championship by one stroke. Pridey finished with an impressive three-day total of 18-under 198. Maxwell, who started the day two ahead, shot a final-round 67. John Greco finished third with a closing 70. In addition to the $5,000 winner’s check, Pridey also earned a spot into the 2018 Taylormade Pebble Beach Invitational Presented by Dell Technologies at Pebble Beach Golf Links, Spyglass Hill Golf Course, and The Links at Spanish Bay.

October 14-16, 2019

54-hole, stroke-play golf tournament, held on Del Monte Golf Course

For general inquiries,
please call
(831) 373-2700

Entry Form


Adidas logo

TaylorMade logo